.

'Where's the Money?' Coach Files Complaint Against Plainfield Jr Cats

Accusations of mismanagement of funds, and more election controversy.

Credit: File photo
Credit: File photo
There's more controversy brewing at the Plainfield Junior Cats, two months after several would-be candidates were prevented from running for the youth sports organization's board.

Earlier this month, PJC commissioner and coach Lawrence Jaderberg filed a complaint asking the organization to open up the books amid questions over how finances are being handled.

"Based upon our attorney’s advice, we will make no comment on pending litigation," PJC board president Ron Muscato said in an email to Patch on Wednesday.

The complaint, filed Feb. 10, alleges that the PJC "through the executive board has caused waste or mismanagement within [PJC] by virtue of mismanagement of accounts, awarding of bids without a competitive bidding process and not properly accounting."

Jaderberg said he wants to see how much money is being spent by PJC, and where it's going.

"They are withholding financial information," he said, adding he's requested to see PJC's financial books several times.

Jaderberg claims there was around $150,000 in PJC's coffers three years ago, "and now there's next to nothing."

He also claims that there's a discrepancy between the amount of money spent on travel football, which has about 300 participants, and in-house football, which has twice as many athletes.

"Why do the minority of these people get the bulk of the funds, and where's this money going?," Jaderberg asked.

The filing asks PJC to "provide an accounting to the court for all transactions taking place in the last three years."

Election controversy continues

The complaint also takes issues with changes to the bylaws that prevented several candidates from running for the PJC executive board because they no longer have children involved in the youth football and cheerleading league. Previously, that was not a disqualifying factor.

"As a result of the defendant's actions, the plaintiff was prohibited from voting for candidates that were properly nominated and eligible at the time candidates were sought for the election," the complaint states, contending that the changes came after the nominating period for candidates had already ended.

"They basically manipulated the bylaws to get candidates out, to eliminate positions," Jaderberg said. 

The complaint contends that the Dec. 10, 2013, election was invalid, and asks that PJC conduct a new election process and "any and all other relief the court deems just and appropriate."

The next court date in the case is set for June 2, according to Will County records.
Tim February 19, 2014 at 06:42 PM
Plainfield - come for the lawsuits, stay for the seat-belt tickets.
Frank February 19, 2014 at 08:32 PM
Why is every news bit in this town about a quasi-political money grab lately? It's quite apparent that people with nothing better to do with their time, who are unemployable under legitimate circumstances, who seek power that they are not deserving of, are trying to get their hands in the pockets of the unsuspecting for their own personal gain. Sickening.
Joki2 February 20, 2014 at 07:55 AM
Sonny Nuccio needs to be the head of PJC. Sonny is passionate for his players and the game of football. Sonny I need a Sack Pack!!!!!! Thanks for your dedication to my son.
Ericus Alanas February 20, 2014 at 10:28 AM
Tim comes in and scores a touchdown, no field goal needed.
Kathy February 20, 2014 at 06:57 PM
PJC has been shady for years! It's about time someone questioned it! Little more than a daddy-ball organization who's time has come for a change and an honest board. If you are innocent - OPEN YOUR BOOKS PJC! When our son played travel thru you - we questioned why it was so cheap and were told -point blank - the inhouse players cover our funds! What?! Walk away folks - there are plenty of real, quality football organizations in the area!
Eric Adams February 21, 2014 at 09:21 AM
Power corrupts. . .absolute power corrupts absolutely! When organizations like baseball and football have over $100K in assets. . .money disappears! Audit your fundraising, concessions, and equipment spends. You will be shocked to see how many thousands are unaccounted. Speak to your vendors about "kick backs" to the chair people. . .it has happened and continues! We started lacrosse in Plainfield/Oswego. . first meeting is budget. Season ending banquet includes budget and spend. Everything open and clearly accounted! Only way to prevent issues. Even if no one did anything wrong, open books prevent suspicion!
MomofmanyinPlainfield February 21, 2014 at 06:48 PM
My children have enjoyed many years in this organization. I have only great things to say about PJC. Many families I know had their children join a team just from my recommendation and are still playing!
Lisa Nonurbusiness February 22, 2014 at 12:44 AM
Of course Mr Muscato, AKA President/Joe Phipps puppet, won't make a comment. He may claim that it is because of attorney's advice- but anyone who has sat in on any of the board meetings, know he won't comment because he is a spineless weasel. Why are they refusing to open the books, if they have nothing to hide? All of the money that was in the building account a few years ago is almost gone?? Spent on what? A stupid set of bricks that spelled out PJC, or board members dinners that cost a ridiculous amount of money? PJC was a great organization- in the past. The problem, is this new board, who was all about "change", has changed it into a circus. And the ones who suffer, are the poor innocent kids of Plainfield...
Adam Hanson February 23, 2014 at 08:49 AM
Who watches over the $ given to travel teams? Is every $ being accounted for? The PAC and PJC have had issues for years. Why only now has it been brought to everyone's attention? $$ missing from concession stands, umpires getting paid for games not worked and umpire supervisors showing up for 5 minutes and getting paid, contracts going to friends of friends to mention just a few of the past 10 years. Whatever happened to volunteering or it's for the kids?
John Krenkel February 24, 2014 at 02:10 PM
If you are looking for a football program that puts the athletes first, is proactively building the program based on values and virtues, and is truly a faith-based program, the check out. St. Ann Football. If you are Catholic and members of St. Ann, St. Mary's Minooka or Holy Family Shorewood, then St. Ann Football is the place for you. Visit us on the web at www.StAnnFootball.com for more information.
Frank J Thierer February 24, 2014 at 03:07 PM
Holy Smokes, Every comment here is awesome. Frank, you may have said it best. If I can take this a step further. LOOK AROUND at all of the other illustrious political hacks we have here,in this county,in the Chicagoland area,in the state of Illinois,in our county.I want to make sure EVERYONE understands that I am not condemning all of them. There are many people in various government positions that go above and beyond the call of duty. Then we have the other side who think they are little gods.IT'S TIME to get them the hell out of there. Good government should be automatic,not something we have to beg for. We need to throw the bums out. PERIOD! How dare you think that you have absolute power over everything on your particular board. If WE don't get up abd start smelling the flowers THEY are going to take EVERYTHING away from us. I know some of you will say that I'm to radical and that's never going to happen. Look back 20,30,40 years depending on how old you are, and think about all the changes (laws) have been created. supposedly to help us in some way. Seat belts, sure they will save a life in certain insistent s. If your are an adult should you be forced to wear them? I don't think so. If you crash and not belted you might die,your fault! Not saying that minors or babies shouldn't be restrained, they should. After you turn 21 it should your choice. There's others out there I just can't think of them right now (CRS) sorry. I personally think that when THEY dropped the limit on DUI from .1 to .08 is just a money grab. Tell me,when you read about a bad accident,most times when booze is involved their limit is way over .1. Have you read about any accidents or driving to wrong way on an expressway where the driver blew anything close to a .1. No you haven't. People are not that drunk to cause those types of accidents again unless they are blowing a much higher number. Hard to believe,watch the newspapers and see. Every time you will find out that person's number was much higher than .1. In conclusion, dropping the number to .08 was nothing more than a money grab. The lawyers make money. The State makes money and the Village makes money. Ask a copper, one that you know if switching to .08 has had any positive affect on those bad accidents. Ask him or her if they have experienced one of these accidents or wrong way driving where the driver blew an .08 or .09. If they will be honest with you they'll have to say NO. Because while no one should drink and drive .08 or .09 usually will not affect your driving enough to be crashing into other vehicles or wrong way driving because it just doesn't happen! Boy is that going to stir up a hornets nest!!!! Gotta go and move out of the Midwest because I screwed up their gravy train. If you don't believe me don't start calling me all sorts of names. Look it up and do a little research and you will come to the same conclusion,sorry to say.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something