.

A Changing of the Guard at Plainfield Patch

Former Romeoville Patch editor takes the reins in Plainfield.

As many of you read on Friday, after nearly two years at the helm at Plainfield Patch, editor Karen Sorensen is to help build our newest site, Joliet Patch, from the ground up.

Starting today, I'll have the daunting task of trying to take over where Karen left off, and I know I've got big shoes to fill. 

Fortunately, Plainfield isn't uncharted territory for me. Some of you may remember me from my eight-year stint at The Enterprise newspaper, where I covered everything from schools to business to police news. 

More recently, I served as editor of Plainfield Patch's "neighbor," .

Effective today, I'm officially making the shift to Plainfield, and I'm hoping to hit the ground running — and I want to hear from you. Got any story ideas? Feedback? Things you'd like to see on Plainfield Patch? Drop me a line at shannon.antinori@patch.com.

Lea Anne Stoughton May 14, 2012 at 02:25 PM
Welcome!
Eyes on Plainfield May 14, 2012 at 03:01 PM
One thing...verify the location where a person really resides. Plainfield Patch continually reports about people "as living in the Village of Plainfield" just because they have a Plainfield mailing address. Many times, the individual in a published item live in the surrounding communities, especially many who actually live in Joliet. A little bit of research would clarify the discrepancy.
Barb May 14, 2012 at 03:46 PM
Welcome Shannon! :-) I read all the local Patches - everyone does a great job. If someone is a member of Plainfield Schools, Park District, Library, and has a Plainfield mailing address - in my opinion they are from Plainfield. And anyways - who cares!!! Bigger things to worry about in this world. Again, just my opinion.
Style May 14, 2012 at 04:34 PM
Please disregard my last post (posted in error). I very rarely agree with Eyes, but she could not be more correct in this instance. I do not have a residence within the Village of Plainfield. I have a Plainfield mailing address, Plainfield schools, Plainfield Park District, Plainfield Library, Joliet Police, Joliet Fire and Joliet water. I live in the City of Joliet, So I am a resident of Joliet. NOT PLAINFIELD. Nor are my neighnbors. Just because something has the word Plainfield in it doesnt mean it represents the Village. The Village, schools, library, fire district, post office,park district all have different boundries. None of them are the same as another. For example when the "BEST OF" contests are ran on the Plainfield Patch, I don't believe Joliet businesses should be candidates. McBrides won best place for a drink. Well, good for Joliet, How about a Plainfield business. Lets keep this a Plainfield Patch and not a Jofield Patch.
Joel Craig May 14, 2012 at 08:30 PM
Welcome back, Shannon!
Shannon Antinori (Editor) May 14, 2012 at 10:21 PM
Thank you! Glad to be back in Plainfield.
MelloYello May 15, 2012 at 02:29 PM
Fantastic! I hope we will see some reporting on the Fire District's spending habits as well as other local taxing bodies. Haven't read anything about the shenanigans at Wheatland Township in some time. Hopefully these and other taxing bodies will get some "ink" time.
R. Paxson May 15, 2012 at 02:35 PM
Lets talk about property taxes; Bills have just been sent out, tax rates are up (again), market values is down (again). I would like to hear from our legislators and candidates on the subject of eliminating local property tax extensions or simpilfing the objection process.
Ram Seichert May 15, 2012 at 09:19 PM
I agree and how about that bridge being installed on Renwick Road. Enough with the restaurant closings already. I would like to see some media coverage on the taxing bodies which all have a huge impact on our living and services.
Tim May 15, 2012 at 10:54 PM
The fact that this is categorized as 'opinion' is a good sign. At least there is now an editor who understands the difference between news and gossip. That alone will be a relief.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »